Slight Regrets

This occurred a few weeks ago but it is still in my head. I was heading off to China in 12 hours and went to a Best Buy to pick up a few new goodies for the long flight (DS & PSP Games, DVD’s, etc.). Pretty standard stuff.

While I was there I saw the new Pearl Jam album and decided to pick it up for my wife as she loves Mr. Vedders’s voice and the band in general. I also do most of the Best Buy purchases for some reason and thought it would be nice to come home with something for her as well. Of course she was appreciative and excited to listen to the album right away.

This is where the slight regret comes in; I do not regret picking up the album for her but I do detest listening to this sniveling, whiny (Notice I make no comment regarding talent) self-absorbed band/frontman. Ugh.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Slight Regrets

  1. haahnster says:

    I presume you are picking up the whining in the words (e.g., lyrics, interview responses) themselves, because Vedder’s voice is way too low-pitched to fit the traditional definition of “whiny”.

    I really disagree with you on this one. I find the anti-war lyrics on this album in particular to be quite the opposite of “self-absorbed”. Also, I’m going to revisit my dictionary to make sure my personal defintion of “sniveling” isn’t way off, because I don’t get that vibe either.

    Alas, what a boring world it would be if we all liked the same things!

  2. JM says:

    I agree with the last statement and I did try to make it clear that this might just be my issue as opposed to a “Pearl Jam Sucks” issue.

    In addition, the comments I make are in regards to the general band and not this exact album as I will not spend my time digesting this one. The album might be a brilliant departure or continued excellence but no way, no how.

  3. haahnster says:

    Where do Tool and the Red Hot Chili Peppers rank on the “self-absorbed” scale?

    Just curious.

  4. JM says:

    I would need to see a good list to rank both of them although Tool is pretty damn self absorbed. However, Tool does not rank nearly as high on the sniveling or whiny list as Pearl Jam. And Tool does have the muscial chops to back up any self-absorbedness in that arena at least in my humble opinion (see drummer).

    For the Chili Peppers I would say they are considerably lower on this scale. In addition, a sense of humor helps the RHCP which is something Pearl Jam (and Tool) lack utterly.

  5. haahnster says:

    Oh, come on, just go ahead and say it…

    There’s obviously *something* more specific that bothers you about Pearl Jam. “Sniveling” and “whiny” are words descriptive of attitude (real or perceived) way more than music. Just say it. I’m dying of curiosity over here.

    Eddie refused to sign an autograph. Something. PJ music was on the radio during a bad sexual experience. You’re a huge supporter of Ticketbastard and thus offended by Pearl Jam’s attempts to challenge their near-monopoly. Something has to lurking right below the surface. Just spit it out, man!!!

  6. JM says:

    I wish I had more for you as you are looking for a battle which I do not think I can provide you with. I also think the words “sniveling” and “whiny” can apply to music and nothing more and this is kinda the case.

    I say kinda as I do think that Mr. Vedder represents these words to their fullest extent and meaning. I do want to point out that Eddie never refused to sign an autograph for me and I have no association with Ticketbastard (nice name) at all.

    I just fucking hate Pearl Jam. I could list several others I hate (See Nirvana) as well but I think some might hit too close to home for you so I will stay away from them.

  7. haahnster says:

    Fair enough. No “battle” is being sought from my end. Yes, I like Nirvana as well. But, you needn’t worry about “hitting too close to home”. That implies that I’m somehow offended by any instance in which someone does not share my exact taste in music. That’s simply not the case.

    I can’t recall ever before seeing “sniveling” used to describe music. I guess it would’ve been less surprising to me if the band being described was The Cure, Depeche Mode, or maybe Wham/George Michael. That’s what I would envision as “sniveling” in the music world. No big deal, though.

    That said, you really should spend some time with that new Pearl Jam CD…(wink, wink)

  8. JM says:

    I think of the Cure or George Michael being sniveling in real life even more so than musicaly but maybe I need to take a harder look at Roget’s. I might be getting sniveling mixed up with candy ass.

    I will also admit that most bands that came out with a similar look/feel in the late 80’s and early 90’s drive me nuts as well so it is not exclusive to PJ.

    That being said…as a man of diversified muscial tastes have you ever ingested any Afghan Whigs/Geg Dulli/Twillight Singers? If not you should try a bit.

Leave a Reply

