Diamond

Good luck figuring out the next one as this one proved too complicated for you. Maybe at least you will never have to see or hear Gilmour again.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Diamond

  1. haahnster says:

    I’m attempting to discern the proper inference from the Gilmour comment. Was there bad blood? I thought it was just that Barrett (R.I.P.) went batshit, and was no longer a competent band member. Gilmour was his replacement, but I never had the impression it was a coup d’etat, so to speak.

    Or, are you blaming Gilmour for the ’70s Pink Floyd sound? I always got the impression Roger Waters was at the helm to a much greater degree than Gilmour.

    PS – I’m *not* trying for a repeat of the Pearl Jam fiasco some weeks back. It’s just curiosity getting the better of me again, I suppose.

  2. JM says:

    I am of the feeling that no bad blood existed between Syd and Roger.

    I am of the feeling though that Gilmour represents everything about Floyd which Syd despised.

    I am of the feeling that Waters was and forever is brilliant.

    ps. I like the PJ fiasco as I think we had some fun with it. I just think we need to stay away from our own personal gods, ie. Neil Young/Bob Dylan for you and Greg Dulli for me.

    Maybe we can also discuss Tom Petty and his new record as well as I like the new single I heard.

  3. haahnster says:

    I must confess I spent several years (overlapping with my biggest Led Zeppelin phase) listening to a lot of Floyd. It was mainly from ages 9-18, especially 11-15 (1981-1985). In any event, I had sort of walked away from Pink Floyd several years before the Gilmour/Waters feud really turned ugly. I suppose I never really thought too much about Syd’s perceptions of the post-Syd Pink Floyd. Interesting.

  4. JM says:

    I think our age difference might affect this as I was 6 when the 70’s closed. My first introduction came through the Gilmour 80’s and when I went back to the older Floyd (As all young rocksters need to do with every band they “discover”) I kinda despised Gilmour and his bloated guitar. It seemed to me (again I was young) that Gilmour killed a unique band and just turned it into a touring dinosaur to make money.

    On the other end I know well enough to stay away from all things Zep based on what Rob told me as that is not a band I care for at all, ever.

  5. haahnster says:

    Beware the anti-rockist in Rob. Red Hot Chili Peppers and Tool didn’t derive their musical styles from burning incense, sitting in some new age circle and giggling over the cleverness of Sgt. Pepper’s.

    It was Led Zeppelin. 100% of everything remotely hard rock/heavy blues influenced was at one time or another owned by Zep.

    I’m certainly not saying you need to listen to them. I only listen when the occasional song comes across the car radio. However, you can’t dismiss their place in music history.

    And, just for rap fans (Rob included), those weren’t Beatles riffs on the old, Rick Rubin produced Beastie Boys & Run-DMC songs. Zep once again…

  6. JM says:

    Trust me on this…Rock Rules. I only like rock when it comes down to it but can appreciate other non-rock music. Rob and I have had plently of discussions regarding his lack of respect for the electric guitar.

    On Zep I simply do not trust their place in music history and do not believe that their reach is as far as most. I am a metal guy at heart and from the way Zep “borrows” from to many other sources to the way that they were formed that are too much of an amalgamation for me. To me the beginning and end is Sabbath and will always be.

  7. haahnster says:

    Well, then I won’t burst your bubble by delineating the myriad (and obvious) influences of Zep’s first two albums (1969) on Black Sabbath’s debut LP (1970).

    But, I shan’t cast stones in Sabbath’s direction. They took the heaviest of the heavy and stuck with it. They were the first truly “heavy metal” band, IMHO. They were consistent and had the image as well.

    But, if you can’t see the link between the heavier elements of early Zep and the beginnings of Black Sabbath, then I think you’re willfully turning a blind eye on documented history.

    Of course, on my blog, I’ve already run through how the early Zep (especially their 1st LP) was roadmapped by Jeff Beck’s first two “solo” LPs. Everything comes from something else…

  8. JM says:

    Everything comes from something else but Zep is something which I have simply never felt. I do not dislike them but they never moved me in anyway.

  9. haahnster says:

    Fair enough. I am all for valuing “feeling” in music over all else. I would never advocate liking (or pretending to like) any musical artist(s) just because you thought you were supposed to like them. There are too many options to settle on something that doesn’t move you in any way.

    I acknowledge the influence of The Beatles, even though a whole lot of their stuff isn’t my cup of tea. I acknowledge the technical prowess of Eric Clapton on guitar, even though the VAST majority of his stuff leaves me feeling hollow (and he is the most overrated musician in history). I acknowledge that Zeppelin bridged the gap between ’60s acid rock and ’70s album-oriented heavy rock (much of which turned out to be bullshit).

    I appreciate the discussion.

Leave a Reply

