Denzel Hayes Washington Jr

This week I caught American Gangster and as I was leaving the theater and thinking about how much I fucking loved this movie I started to ponder Denzel Washington.  For some reason he has never been on the top of my list when it comes to American actors but he is getting there really quick over the last 5 years.  I am just going to start with 1999 and move to the present with the below titles and a few quick comments  

  1.  The Hurricane, 1999 – I dug this and bought the performance 100%.
  2. Remember The Titans, 2000 – Not my thing but solid.
  3. Training Day, 2001 – A lot of people felt this was overhyped but not me.  Love it.
  4. John Q , 2002 – Did not see.
  5. Antwone Fisher, 2002 – Totally solid.
  6. Out of Time, 2003 – Did not see.
  7. Man on Fire, 2004 – One of m all time faves.  Brilliant in every way.
  8. Manchurian Candidate, 2004 – Did not see.  No remakes for me if possible.
  9. Inside Man, 2006 – Fantastic performance in a very good movie.
  10. Deja Vu, 2006 – Man on Fire light but still good.
  11. American Gangster, 2007 – Loved it.
  12. The Great Debaters, 2007 – Have not seen yet.

We can also add a few others as well including Glory, Mo’ Better Blues, Philadelphia and his brilliant turn as Malcolm X in 1992.  I am not declaring anything here but just wanted to point this out.  And if you can check out Man on Fire.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

