Next

It is always about finding a new book for me.  I have not re-read a book in the last 15 years and I do not ever want to go down that road.  It’s not that I have not found or fallen in love with certain books but  a certain magical moment occurs when you read a great book for the first time that cannot be duplicated, like a first kiss.  It is not only wonderful but very fragile as the environment and mental state you are in impact this as much as the actual words on the pages.  This resonance is a key factor and going back to that well would diminish the magic that books are to me.

That being said, it is again always about finding new books and even more about finding new authors.  I just finished a few including –

  • The Half-Made World by Felix Gilman – This was a great read with a very unique story, very fresh.
  • Sandman Slim by Richard Kadrey – A good read as somehow I stumbled upon this hellish genre that I can blame on Jonathan L. Howard after reading and loving his Johannes Cabal books.
  • McSweeney’s Enchanted Chamber of Astonishing Stories by Michael Chabon – I am indeed a suck for Chabon and his goof ball genre projects.

Now on to the next round which will include –

  • Cutting For Stone by Abraham Verghese – The weefe is in a book club and she picked this up and I started to read it and it was a really well written first 50-75 pages so I will see where it takes me.  I am going to try to read all her book club books just to use that as my internal “branching out” argument vs. myself.
  • Super Sad True Love Story: A Novel by Gary Shteyngart – A friend suggested this one as he knew I loved Chabon and Lethem so I am going to give it a try.  For some reason the write ups and Mr. Shteyngart does not “do it” for me but I will give it a go.
  • The Adventures of Mr. Maximillian Bacchus and His Traveling Circus – Oddball collection of writing from Clive Barker that never had a set plan or even set release.

And then I might start A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin although that seems like a lifelong pursuit based on the fact that he has released numerous sequels and he is said to have “no intention” of ever finish the story to the point that one fellow writer said he had “a disdain for his followers”.  I have to admit I love that concept.

Anything else out these I am missing that is spot on?

 

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Next

  1. martineden says:

    I left out The Strain by Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan that I did enjoy once I was 30% of the way in. I am never a big end of the world type fan or in the need for apocalyptic types of work but after reading The Passage by Justin Cronin I was just in the mood for it. It was a good book but to flawed to be great but I will check out the sequel this week. Where is the Cronin’s next book when you need it?

  2. sheila says:

    So, I am not a huge fiction reader but I’ll throw a few things out that I’ve enjoyed. And I’m sure you aren’t surprised that they’re all travel- related (yes I am somewhat predictable).

    Pico Iyer “Cuba and the Night”
    Jhumpa Lahiri “interpreter of Maladies”
    Barbara Kingsolver “The Poisonwood Bible”

    I also just read Anderson Cooper’s memoir and found it really well-written and a nice mix of personal emotional history with interesting stories of journalistic adventures.

  3. martineden says:

    Predictable is good when it is someone else’s book choices. I have heard of Interpreter of Maladies so I will add that to the list. I need to pick up a 2nd IPAD now as the weefe and the kids have taken over mine without question. I’m stuck in ATL with nothing to read due to those minions.

    And why I am not surprised that you read Cooper’s memoir. You would buy an audio cd of him reading it to I best as well! I like him but I have trouble with memoirs lately as I seem to get bored or annoyed with the subject quite quickly. The next memoir I am going to attack is Keith Richard’s though so it might help rekindle that concept for me.

  4. sheila says:

    the thing about the cooper memoir is that he jumps around a lot. so its not a typical autobiography. its more like snippets of things weaving in and out. so he talks about something that happened in his youth and it reminds him of an event in bosnia. its almost like a bunch of short stories strung together, good for the boredom factor. i’ll try to email it to you if you want, i have it digitally.

Leave a Reply

