Douchebag Of The Week (Thank You!)

Thank god for the Tea Party & Republicans!  Anytime I start to think that conservatives do not have their head up their asses they prove me wrong.  This week’s example is from Herman Cain.  If you are not aware of who Herman Cain I have pulled this right from Wikipedia as the “About Me” section of his website is down –

“Herman Cain (born December 13, 1945) is an American businessman, columnist, and radio host from Georgia. He is best known as the former chairman and CEO ofGodfather’s Pizza. He is a former deputy chairman (1992–94) and chairman (1995–96) of the civilian board of directors to the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City. Before his business and economics career he worked as a mathematician in ballistics for the United States Navy.[2] Cain’s newspaper column is distributed by North Star Writers Group. He lives in the Atlanta suburbs, where he also serves as a minister.”

Now on to what he said in a recent interview with the Atlantic that earns him my Douchebag Of The Week honors –

“Most of the ancestors that I can trace were born here in the United States of America,” [Cain] said, hitting those last four words with a hammer. “And then it goes back to slavery. And I’m sure my ancestors go all the way back to Africa, but I feel more of an affinity for America than I do for Africa. I’m a black man in America.” …

“Barack Obama is more of an international,” Cain said. “I think he’s out of the mainstream and always has been. Look, he was raised in Kenya, his mother was white from Kansas and her family had an influence on him, it’s true, but his dad was Kenyan, and when he was going to school he got a lot of fellowships, scholarships, he stayed in the academic environment for a long time. He spent most of his career as an intellectual.”

First off I hate to put words into President Obama’s head but I am pretty sure he feels like a black man in America because, well he is a black man in America. Secondly, why it is a bad thing that he spent along time in an “academic environment” and most of his career as an “intellectual”?  As a person without a college degree I kinda like the idea that my president is not someone whom I could sit down and have a beer with.  I sorta like the idea that he has spent his formative being educated at top notch programs and being in an “academic environment”.

I also have to admit that I like the idea of my president being an “intellectual”.  I know some people like the folksy thing and that is all great for my mayor or other politicians but I do not want the President of the United States being seen as “folksy” or “plain spoken” or “one of us” when he is sitting across the table from the Russian President or the King of Saudi Arabia.  I want him to be the smartest guy in the room period.

Herman Cain you might think you feel more American (I still would love to know the definition of MORE American) but I can guarantee that you are more of a douchebag.  Congratulations to you Mr. Cain.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Douchebag Of The Week (Thank You!)

  1. sheila says:

    i saw the headline and thought you were going to comment on weinergate.

  2. martineden says:

    Oh I will get to that. I like to think multiple douchebags can occupy the same mantle some times.

Leave a Reply

