Thank You TSA

Ice picks & meat cleavers & sabres.  Baseball bats & pool cues.  Flares & pellet guns.  Cattle prods and crowbars & billy clubs.  Candles & gel shoe inserts.  Bottles with over 3.5 ounces & snowglobes.

What do all these have in common?  Exactly correct.  Things not allowed past the security checkpoint at any American airport.

However on my recent travel I have noticed a little loophole in this high tech security.  And by loophole I mean sitting in plain sight in the bottom of my computer bag that was scanned not once but twice on this particular trip.  The exact items are below….

Surprise.

Yes, a 3.5 inch Laguiole knife and a Single Bend Dental Scraper

First off don’t ask why I have that dental scraper, I like them and got it in Japan on a trip.  You never know how deep you may want to clean your teeth but rest assured the Japanese will have a tool for common sale to do the job.

Back to the point.  What the hell are these scanners and TSA folks there to do if they cannot find the clear weapons in plain sight.  We are looking for the next shoe bomber or chemical attack but ignoring actual knives and sharp objects now.  I might have a fuzzy memory but I kind of remember box cutters with their 1 inch blades to have been a problem in the past.

Good work defenders of the skies today and thank your stars I am only an sarcastic asshole and not a real bad guy.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank You TSA

  1. sheila says:

    My chef friend went to AND fro with a full knife roll in his carry-on and never got stopped. And yet my bottle of water purchased AFTER security and not even opened had to be dumped. Blech.

  2. martineden says:

    It’s crazy that you see people getting checked for everything but the people with the knives go through with no problem. Trust me, I am glad I did not have to give up my knife (or the dental scraper) but it makes me wonder what sword the guy next to me has.

Leave a Reply

