So Maybe Florida Was Right

I’m in DC, sick as a dog and just want to crash but I promised myself I would get back on the writing stick so here I am.  I have so many things to go into but first off let me back track a little on my Casey Anthony quip the other day.

I was wrong.  The jury got it right.  I have no idea what evidence was laid out to them but clearly it was not enough and my own personal horror at the person is irrelevant.  Do I think this woman’s daughter died due to her actions…YES.  Do I think she per se murdered her daughter…not so sure.  However, that is not the point.  The point in our legal system is that she had a jury of her peers listen to evidence that the DA presented without anything being held back and they still said she was not guilty of murder.  Is justice served?  Yes!  That is the best the system can do and this was a death-qualified jury as well so they probably came in with a little prejudice to start with.

I am still bothered by it but alas I am not Nancy Grace and I cannot cheer when people who I THINK did it get convicted.  I have to cheer when the legal system allows for due process regardless of the outcome.  Sad in some ways but when you take away the emotional side of the case you come to this conclusion.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in What!?. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So Maybe Florida Was Right

  1. sheila says:

    When are you gonna tell the dalai lama story?

  2. None says:

    Hey…enjoy this sweltering DC weather 🙂

  3. Sylvia says:

    Sorry…the above comment was me but then again, I guess you figured that out.

  4. martineden says:

    I had a good guess it was you as my list of friends in DC is pretty small, although that could be said for every state as well.

    DC was crazy hot and humid. Just miserable for me as I got a cold so I was walking around DC in a suit, sneezing in 95 degree heat.

Leave a Reply

