DC…The Good, Bad and Ugly

I do not get to Washington DC as much as I would like to as I just do not have enough clients in that part of the country.  I love visiting virtually anyplace in the mid to upper east coast but DC is especially cool based on what you can do there with a small window of time.  So here is my good, bad and ugly on my recent DC excursion –

The Bad

  • Truthfully, nothing about DC was bad but the fact that I got sick the first night there with a horrible summer cold sucked.  I was crazy congested and not being able to breath kinda sucks in relation to trying to sleep.  I finally took some Advil Cold & Flu and it did help slightly but it also made me feel like a hopped up speed addict for about 36 hours.  A bad heart double pounding evening indeed.

The Ugly

  • However, due to the above cold the  city’s crazy hot weather was wearing on my nerves a bit.  Walking back and forth from the convention center to my hotel in a suit was not a good way to shake my overall crappy feeling.
  • And the only truly ugly part…DC Cabs – They suck.  How can you have a major international city where practically none of the taxis accept credit cards?  And the fact that most are unclean and manned by mouth breathers does not help the case.  All I want is a clean, air conditioned, credit card accepting taxis, is that so much?  When I yearn for a NY cab you know it sucks.

The Good

  • Plume at The Jefferson was a total highlight.  This place is a can’t miss if you do not mind dropping a little more than average coin.  The tasting menu is a killer and I would suggest adding the cheese course as well.  The room is what I want in fine dining as well and it brings me to this next little point. Dress fucking appropriately when you go out for dinner.  I love to wear jeans as much or more than the next guy but know when that is not acceptable. And these restaurants should simply refuse business when some jackass shows up in white jeans and an affliction T.  However, I cannot stress how great Plume was enough.
  • 4+ hours at the Smithsonian (American History Museum) was also fantastic.  I am truly blessed to live in a city with great museums but DC is just killer for this as well.  I could only stop in on Saturday due to work but it was worth it in every way.

The Really, Really, Really Good…..

On Saturday we ate at Plume and opened the trade show on Sunday.  Come Sunday night I was tired from the show and full on feeling like shit from the cold so we decided to eat at this generic dump right across from our hotel just to get in and get out.  This is a photo taken by my buddy over my shoulder at PJ Clarks on 16th in DC.  Yes, this is His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama sitting behind me getting ready to order some TGIF style food for Christ/Buddha’s sake.  We sit down, order and then see a mass of folks crossing the street suddenly disperse at the front door at the restaurant.  In walks his Holiness with a few others (7 others in total including 2 little ones) and he just casually sits down right behind me.  The cheese dick waiter comes over and is giving his extreme fajita flare wearing speech to the whole party and that alone was worth the price of that crappy meal.  He then asks if they have any dietary restrictions and the Dalai Lama casually mentions he is a vegetarian and orders a fricking grilled cheese.

The whole thing was super surreal.  Right behind me is a man believed to be a Bodhisattva who is an enlightened being who has postponed his own nirvana and chosen to take rebirth in order to serve humanity, clearly a pious man regardless of religion.

And all I could think about….at least he is not some preachy vegan.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DC…The Good, Bad and Ugly

  1. eric says:

    did he scarf down some chicken wings and loaded tater skins?

  2. martineden says:

    He might have had the tater skins but I think PJ Clark’s has “Imitation Authentic Baco Bits”. I think the wings were a no-go.

  3. sheila says:

    Awesome. My most random celeb sighting was running into Kirk Hammett at Whole Foods.

  4. martineden says:

    Was it before or after the Black Album?

  5. sheila says:

    after–i think it was about 5 years ago. he has a house in pacific heights and was shopping in the hood. he’s a little shrimp.

  6. martineden says:

    If it was Lars then I would have possibly punched out his dwarven arse.

Leave a Reply

