Our Newest Platform: Stupidity For The Masses

How can I pass up Michele Bachmann stupidity and the continued “debate” regarding evolution and science in general…well I cannot.

Republican presidential candidate Michele Bachmann said that excluding intelligent design in teaching evolution in schools amounts to “censorship by government” during a stop in Iowa on Wednesday, the Des Moines Register reports.The conservative congresswoman signaled that her religious beliefs helped to shape her posture toward the scientific theory. She explained that she believes “God created the earth” and issues such as the Second Law of Thermodynamics, irreducible complexity and the “the dearth of fossil record” need to be addressed.
Bachmann also stated “If you look at scientists there is not a unanimity of agreement on the origins of life.” She made similar remarks in 2006 – “There are hundreds and hundreds of scientists, many of them holding Nobel Prizes, who believe in intelligent design,” she said then.
Last summer, Bachmann said in explaining her stance on intelligent design, “What I support is putting all science on the table and then letting students decide.” She added, “I don’t think it’s a good idea for government to come down on one side of scientific issue or another, when there is reasonable doubt on both sides.”
Rival presidential contender Rick Perry called evolution “a theory that’s out there” and one that’s “got some gaps in it” earlier in the campaign. After the Texas governor made headlines with his remarks, GOP candidate Jon Huntsman wrote in a tweet , “To be clear. I believe in evolution and trust scientists on global warming. Call me crazy.”
A couple of tiny little insignificant thoughts on this –
  1. This is not exactly censorship Mrs. Bachmann.  We generally do not want our educators teaching our children about fairy tales so this falls into the category of teaching truth vs. fiction.  I also would like to request that my children not be taught about any of the wars being fought in middle earth for the record.
  2. Religion is a choice of belief.  It is not a fact and anyone who says otherwise is drinking the kool-aid.  I choose to believe but that does not mean that my choice or my belief trumps actual fact.  You do know the difference between fact and fiction Mrs. Bachmann correct?  Oh wait, you still think we have a US embassy in Iran so maybe that whole concept eludes you.
  3. Rick Perry cannot be this dumb is he?  I honestly that GWB was the dumbest person in Texas but you are several notches lower on the dumb as a stump scale.
  4. And nice job Jon Huntsman in pointing out that having a sane point in the Republican party is crazy.  You have no chance but at least give me hope that Republicans are not as stupid as the ones they are electing.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Politics, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Newest Platform: Stupidity For The Masses

  1. The lady is right, and way down deep in the soul you’re suppressing, you know it. Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

  2. martineden says:

    I appreciate the visit and the opinion but again even though I am Catholic and believe I simply cannot refute facts and science. I believe in God, that God did create the earth and universe but after providing that spark evolution (as God intended) has taken over since. I am not sure if that would put in the heretic category but my belief is my belief and that is the wonder of any form of spirituality.

    I do not think that I need to condense the earth’s existence into 6000 years and go against science to believe dinosaurs and man (Current version) were hanging out together in order to meet my belief in God.

    I also intend to teach my children the same thing and then let them work it out on their own. God gave us the ability to think and question all things and that is the greatest proof to me in the existence of God.

    Thanks again for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

