Quiet Please…Not You…The Others

I live in a house with 5 women.  The ages range from 2.2 to 71.6 years of age.  On most days from 6am until 10pm the concept of silence is rarer than a Lohan less day on TMZ.  Trying to get limit the number of talkers is a constant battle that has yet to be won but I am still naive enough to think I can somehow win the war.

That being said I always enjoy silence.  I have always enjoyed the silence that comes from travel whether it is in the form of having headphones on or being alone in a hotel room.  I enjoy not hearing the general public in the background.  Don’t get me wrong, I like to people much as much as the next person but I just prefer to have the mute button on and make up my own conversation like a HK action flick.  And this includes the sound of my own voice.  I like the voices in my head but once they leave my mouth I get all pissy about the way it was done.  Either too harshly or too softly, either way I end up disliking my own sound as much as the blabberton next to me.

However, the one glitch to this “like” that I have realized is that I hate that same silence in my house.  Somehow it makes my home feel less like my home and more like a possible dream state which then indicates I have clearly lost my mind.  And although that is a possibility I assume that if this is a dream than I would not be caught watching Inception as much as I do on HBO and instead be watching something else on skin-o-max.

Part of the dislike is that I am unable to sleep at times due to the silence.  Sometimes it is falling asleep and there are times it is the falling back asleep after my normal 3am wake up.  And the strangest part it is the lack of sound that drives me the most nuts.  It is not the sound of the wind or the settling of the house or any noise that brings this about.  It is just the silence.

Is it possible to have a phobia of something you like?  What is that called?  While looking that up I did run across a great site called The Phobia List so if you want to stroll down that crazy lane enjoy and let me know if you can find mine.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in What!?. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quiet Please…Not You…The Others

  1. Sheila says:

    Seriously why did you have to post the phobia list? I’m wasting enough time online as it is. I particularly was confused by Dutchphobia (fear of the Dutch).

  2. martineden says:

    How can you ever waste too much time online? I have lots and lots of sites that I can bounce around for hours if need be.

    On Dutchphobia I honestly can see someone like Jason Newsted having that after all those years with Lars.

  3. Sheila says:

    Ha! Except Lars is Danish (although once you get that far north I don’t think it really matters all that much).

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    Ah ha…. the plot thins… now I understand why the entire day devoted to quiet on Bali is so attractive to you!

  5. martineden says:

    I am quite annoyed that I forgot that. I think my rush to get in a good joke killed the desire to fact check. I would make a horrible reporter, unless I was at FOX.

Leave a Reply

