Are They Gone Yet

I had a flashback today while driving home regarding some of my writings in late 2010 and early 2011 regarding the category “Things I Would Like To Forget 2010”.  I did that whole segment instead of a “Best Of” thing as I find it much more enjoyable to pick out shit I hated or have stuck in my craw for the whole year.  I think it is time to recap and see if any of my wishes came true –

2010 Music I Would Like To Forget –

  • Female Artist – Katy Perry.  She really hit her stride in early 2011 but I think she has pretty much ran her course and I am thrilled by it.  She can continue to have her career and be classified as Novelty/Other.
  • Male Artist – Chris Brown.  It appears he has found his niche as R. Kelly’s seedy cousin and that is fine with me.  I think he will retain a certain popularity with limits and as long as the limit hits before my awareness even better.
  • Group – Kings Of Leon.  Maroon 5.  The Fray.  Well 2 of 3 dying on the vine is not so bad I guess.  I just need Adam Levine to shut up and never utter anything about The Rolling Stones or Mick Jagger again.

Random Folks –

  • Katherine Heigl – Not quite gone but getting closer.
  • Fred Armisen – How is he still on SNL.  Oh yeah he impersonates the President.  I need him off the air.
  • Mel Gibson – Thanks for the memories and I will always have the Mel Gibson actor character at the top while the rest of you drops.
  • The Black Eyed Peas/Fergie – I got my wish on this one.  Thank the lord for this one.
  • P. Diddy / Puff Daddy / Sean Combs / Diddy Dirty Money – Phew.  Another one that has closed up shop for good.
  • Josh Duhamel – You are fucked unless Michael Bay continues to rape the Transformers franchise as no one else will hire you.
  • Nicholas Sparks – Only 1 book and no movie in 2011 made me quite happy.  This perennial douchebag is not gone for good though as long as people appreciate shitty writing.
  • Gwyneth Paltrow – Only movie in 2011 made it a great year and at least I think even you finally realized your singing sucks.  Now if Fincher could somehow get your head back in a box life would be grand.

All in all I was pleased that I was able to preside off the public death of some of these folks.    I still have my fingers crossed for some of you to speed up your natural descent but you only have 19 days left so step on it.

Next I will start focusing on things from 2011 that need to be burned from my memory forever or at least until I go blind and deaf.  And this year will be more focused and less pop culture heavy.  I need to direct my venom better sometimes.

 

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Things I Would Like To Forget 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Are They Gone Yet

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    I absolutely love this! You are so refreshingly honest and frank. Great stuff belligerant man. I need to start taking a leaf or two or three….out of your book

  2. Lottie Nevin says:

    I also need some spelling lessons….

  3. martineden says:

    We do not grade comments on spelling for reference, only content. The key to being a “difficult” person is three fold – 1) You must know and embrace the difference between being civil and nice. Civility is mandated, nice is optional. 2) The same light you shine on others stand underneath. It is easier on the soul if you attack yourself first to eliminate the guilt of it all. 3) Have at least some desire for a hermit-esque existence.

  4. Sheila says:

    Oh, I don’t know…I thought Chris Brown’s ‘comeback’ at the VMAs was pretty spectacular. Snappy white suit, great song, amazing flying choreography. Sure, he’s a wife beating douchebag, but boyfriend can put on a good show.

  5. martineden says:

    I do not disagree with you that he can put on a show and he is an incredible dancer…but he is never seeing a cent from my arse. Listen I am not a choir boy and I have no issue with a bit of thuggery but his thuggery went over a line. And call me bias but Rihanna! Rihanna..hell no, he has got to go.

Leave a Reply

