Best of Music – 2011

Wasting Light – Foo Fighters

2011 turned out to be a good year for the most part regarding music.  For me personally I had some long time favorites release new albums, some existing bands that I finally gave a chance to and the resurgence of a childhood favorite.  All in all a good year…

  1. Wasting Light – Foo Fighters.  Dave Grohl continues to surpass expectations with each album.  Well done sir and please continue to suckle at the teet of whatever muse you choose.
  2. Dynamite Steps – TheTwilight Singers.  Greg Dulli has created the soundtrack for my entire life since his early days in the Afghan Whigs to present day.  Another great album and I welcomed the departure from Mark Lanegan.
    Dynamite Steps – The Twilight Singers
  3. The Hymn Of A Broken Man – Times of Grace.  While Killswitch is on a break these current and former KSE members hooked up to write the best pure hardcore album of the year.  However, I want my KSE back for 2012.
  4. Lasers – Lupe Fiasco.  Love love love this album from beginning to end.
    Worship Music – Anthrax
  5. Worship Music – Anthrax.  Who the fuck knew that they had this in them?  Nearly 20 years of irrelevance, at least in my book, and they put out they best thrash album by far.  While peers like Metallica waste time with side projects these guys just stepped up to show they own the rest of the “Big 4” at least as of today.
  6. El Camino – The Black Keys.  Wow I was late to this party.  Love it though and this one will only wear better with age.
  7. Rome – Danger Mouse & Daniel Luppi.  The best non-soundtrack soundtrack of the year.  Moody and filled with great spaghetti western vibes with Ms. Norah Jones heavily featured this one is a true killer. Nice touch DM.
    Rome – Danger Mouse & Daniel Luppi
  8. Watch The Throne – Jay-Z & Kayne West.  Uneven but brilliant.  Maybe the two previous West albums set the bar too high for this one but that is how I ultimately feel.  Jay-Z has some great moments but I would rather hear Kayne at his most unraveling, derailing and destructive self.  What makes Kayne stand out is the honesty and Jay’s posh lifestyle just seems to clutter this up.
  9. Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds.  The smarter and more talented half of Oasis released his first solo album and gives a nice taste of what sonic experimental british rock should sound like.  No pretense and no pretending as this album just sounds great and unique from beginning to end.
    Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

And I am going to leave it at 9.  Who says I have to have a Top 10?  I also need to check out a few albums that I skipped this year including PJ Harvey’s Let England Shake and Bon Iver’s newest.

Suggestions are always welcome as tis the season to receive iTunes gift cards and also the only season that you should say tis and ’twas.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best of Music – 2011

  1. JAYtotheRAY says:

    Wasting Light is definitely at the top of my 2011 list as well. Every album just gets better. Their documentary, Back And Forth, is worth a view as well. I’ll have to check out the new Anthrax. The Black Keys is the only band on Saturday Night Live I haven’t fast-forwarded through in the last 3 years – gotta check out that album too, I guess. The latest efforts from Rise Against, Social Distortion, and Bayside are worth a listen.

  2. martineden says:

    Remind me and I will take care of your anthrax/black key need with a fix this week.

Leave a Reply

