2 Slightly Different Movies

Lost: The Rat Tales

The other day I took my minions to see the newest installment in that brilliant trilogy – Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked.  This was truly the worst kids movie I have ever seen.  Not even close.  The first 2 Chipmunk movies seem like quality Pixar content after watching this hot POS.  The best part…my kids kinda thought so as well.  Don’t get me wrong, my kids are not cinema snobs (Only food snobs are worse for the record) and they enjoyed parts, mainly the Chipettes singing and dancing, but by about the halfway part they were starting to wiggle around in their seats.  Look I get the idea behind riding a franchise into the ground (I should say further, much further underground) but please…no mas.  No mas la ardillita.

On the flip side the weefe and I watched Midnight in Paris by Woody Allen.  I am not a huge fan of Woody Allen but I do appreciate quite a few of his movies so this was an easy one to pick together.  On the flip side it starred Owen Wilson, not my guy but Rachel McAdams and Marion Cotillard easily convinced me.  I loved this movie.  I loved almost every element of it and I have to say it was one of the best films I have seen so far this year although I am way behind.  It had a great premise and a romanticized side that I was all to happy to fall for as well.

It did have the typical Woody Allen glitch that I despise being that a man is dependent on a woman to swoon and cater to his every whim until that woman is not doing that enough for the lost soul.  I get it Woody but I am tired of that.  Any man who NEEDS a woman to fawn over him is not a man period.  That being said at least it was diminished simply by the allotted screen time and therefore the entire movie remained enjoyable.

I also have to give a special mention to Corey Stoll (TV Character actor) who killed the role of Hemingway and also Kathy Bates.  Check this one out as it is one of Woody’s best.

Midnight in Paris

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Movies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2 Slightly Different Movies

  1. Heeman says:

    Lis and I just watched this one too, we loved it. I loved Adrian Brody as Dali.

  2. I like the actor lineup. I am woefully behind on movies but I’ll get there. Chipwrecked sounds just terrible.

Leave a Reply

