My Thoughts – Big Six Categories – OSCAR Overload Pt. 2

This year we have 9 films up for awards and really no clear cut favorite like last year with The King’s Speech.  This ends up meaning that that what people pick gets really muddled really quick but one surprise winner in the big six categories (Film, Actor & Actress, Supporting Actor & Actress and Best Director) will possibly put some over the top or throw them out of contention.  A lot of times this happens due to personal choices outweighing the smart bet…for instance how I could never, ever put Gwyneth Paltrow as a winner due to my own belligerence towards her.

That being said I have gotten better at picking with my head and not my heart (Damn you Academy for passing up Scorsese for Gangs Of New York and Dicaprio for Aviator) and this year I have seen 5 of the 9 nominees so my decisions are clearly clouded but I think I can come to some reasonable conclusions.

I will not list my picks until Saturday evening but if I could do a ballot based on what I WANT to see happen in the big 6 it would look like this –

  • Best Picture – Midnight In Paris
  • Lead Actor – Gary Oldman / Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
  • Lead Actress – Viola Davis / The Help
  • Supporting Actor – Christopher Plummer / Beginners
  • Supporting Actress – Octavia Spencer / The Help
  • Director – Woody Allen / Midnight In Paris

These might seem safe to you but picking Woody Allen to win an Oscar is like picking him to win a popularity contest in a room full of women over 50…not going to happen.  The other one is Gary Oldman who might be the best actor out there today period.  His movie, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (John le Carre novel ) is a good old fashioned Cold War spy drama that is done impeccably well and it all starts with his performance.  WIthout him it does not work.

Just some thoughts to add to the muck.  Get those ballots as you have a few more days.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in 6th Annual Oscar Pool. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Thoughts – Big Six Categories – OSCAR Overload Pt. 2

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    I am a totally hopeless case. I feel like I’ve let myself down BIG TIME. The only film that I’ve seen is ‘The Help’ but that was on airplanes across, God know’s how many continents. I’m not sure that I even got to see the end of the film……OH well, I read the book, and books, in my book are generally better. I love to let my imagination flow…..anyway, through your great articulations I can rest easy, enjoy the sport, sit back and admire. Thank you!

  2. martineden says:

    Some reason this just always gives me a last thought to see a bunch of movies I probably missed in the last 12 months.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Tinker…I think I need to see it. Gary Oldman *is* the best actor on the planet. And I have a total hard-on for Tom Hardy, he’s so fucking great. Hot as hell and coming into his own as an actor, for sure.

  4. martineden says:

    Oldman is crazy good in this role. Just flew under the radar but really good. I like Tom Hardy and he has that Oldman like talent of disappearing into a role but need to see more from him.

Leave a Reply

