Yes, Maybe & Hell No

I am a lucky, albeit belligerent, man that my job allows me the privilege of travel.  Even better I get to travel as I see fit so that makes me damn lucky.  I have had the great fortune of being able to have flown almost 2.5 millions miles, see most of the 50 states and see something like 20 countries in my 37 years.  I have no intention of slowing down and as the minions grow up I cannot wait to bring them to some of my favorite destinations and find a couple of new ones along the way with them.

That being said I have some places that I am truly not interested in seeing and it is hard to say why.  Does this mean I will not visit them, no, probably not.  It is just that it kinda kills me a little every time I have to see one of the Hell No places instead of a YES.  So for my posterity I will list a few YES and HELL NO places below –

Yes!

  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • Czech Republic
  • Croatia
  • Austria
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Cuba

No

  • India – Ummm no.  Not into the culture, food or anything of historical significance.  Sorry.
  • Mexico – The slogan for their tourism board should read – MEXICO: WHY NOW?
  • Venezuela – Seems odd to want to be surrounded by stupidity.  Just saying.

Clearly I am missing many countries but most fit into the “sure why not” category such as Brazil, Saudi Arabia, UAE, Poland, etc, etc.  The more telling thing is the countries I have never wanted to visit.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yes, Maybe & Hell No

  1. I’m with you on most, but I’d love to see certain parts of Mexico after it’s safe from druglords..which will be never. Hey, did you get a new look around here? I like it!

  2. martineden says:

    I did stop by today really quickly and i liked the new layout….i might be a simpleton myself but it was much much easier for me to digest. I just have lacked anything witty to say but i will try to amend that tonight.

  3. Sheila says:

    I always wanted to go to Venezuela. It’s surrounded by beautiful beaches and they have arepas, which are pretty amazing. Actually, I fantasize about a motorbike trip around South America—-not that I’m trying to channel Che but sounds like a good way to kill 9 months or so.

    Of course, this is a way more complicated conversation than a blog comment, but you know I can never resist talking about travelling.

  4. martineden says:

    My experience with Venezuelan people is a bit limited but most I have met have a certain…ummmm….well they don’t have it upstairs so I know my judgement is skewed but it is what it is. I can understand a motorcycle diaries trip in South America but my trip starts in Panama period.

  5. Sheila says:

    Did I tell you to read “Chasing Che” by Patrick Symes? He’s a great writer and I think it started as an article for Rolling Stone. Great travelogue of his trip thru SA on Che’s route—some Motorcycle Diaries stuff mixed in with modern day travel stories. It was pretty great. Between that and Ewan MacGregor’s book, I was inspired to get my moto license. Course I still don’t have a bike but that’s another story.

  6. martineden says:

    I read the article but never got to the book but i wanted to. Between everything I want to get a bike but that is facing an 18 month delay due to a new car purchase and I need to let the dust settle on that one a bit first. Plus the weefe expects an increased life insurance payout once I get one and that makes me a bit suspicious.

Leave a Reply

