The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby is in my humble opinion one of the top 5 books ever written and at least a top 3 one by an American writer.  The book is about as vivid as one can be not only to the characters but also in regards the time period and overall atmosphere.  Simple themes excited brilliantly.

I have the same feelings about the movie, The Great Gatsby released in 1974.  It is one of my personal favorites and strikes a chord in me that few movies do.  Robert Redford and Mia Farrow clearly are the stars of the show but Sam Waterston’s portrayal of Nick Carraway was what worked best for me throughout the movie.  His character keeps the entire process moving straightforward while ethereal presences, Farrow and Redford, flop about as they should.  Love this film.

Now fast forward to today and seeing the following new movie trailer…

First off, do not make snap decisions on the music as this is only a trailer.  Second, I do not like Baz Luhrmann as I found Moulin Rogue atrocious and Romeo & Juliet sloppy & shlocky at best.  However, his visual sense is ideal for Gatsby and now that he is using great source material (Please stick with the book Mr. Luhrmann) I think this has all the potential in the world.  The cast is dead on in every way from DiCaprio to Mulligan to Bachchan and especially with Maguire in the Carraway role.

Overall I am intrigued and excited about this one and it gives me something fun to do Christmas evening with the weefe.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Me Likey, Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Great Gatsby

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    In my humble opinion too. I’ve lost count of the number of times that I have read it. Irishman even gave me a hardback copy of it that he found in London when we were back there at Christmas. I’ll check out the new film – interesting to see if he can pull it off, it will have to be exceptional to better the original.

  2. Julip says:

    I love the book as well, one on my all-time favorites. For me it will be very hard to beat the original film…Robert Redford was beyond compare and this is where I fell for Sam Waterston. I love how visual & vibrant the trailer is but I can’t help feel it has a Moulin Rouge look to it (or what I know of it from ads & trailers since I have not see it)….guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

