No Shit

This is a great commencement speech by Wellesley High (Boston) English teacher David McCullough Jr.  Please watch this whole thing was this guy not only wrote but delivered a great speech.  I did not attend my high school graduation as that seemed like a waste of time (I did or did not) but had this guy given the speech I would have been there if I had to travel through the gates of the hell.

My highlights are these –

Imperical Evidence – “3,200,000 High School Graduates / 37,000 high schools / 37,000 valedictorians / 37,000 class presidents / 92,000 harmonizing altos / 340,000 swaggering jocks / 2,185,967 pairs of Uggs”

Real Achievement – “The fulfilling life, the distinctive life, the relevant life is an achievement to do whatever you do for no reason other than you love it and believe in its importance.”

The numbers alone are an amazingly staggering truth as it is a reminder of how not unique we are.  No matter what you might think, you are not unique.

The idea to do things in life because you love to do them and because they are important to you is the one that hits me closest.   Don’t do it to post it.  Just because you post a photo of yourself, or a witty quote does not make you or that event more important to you or the world.  You actually trivialize yourself and your loved ones each time you do so.  You make them and the event a statistic on a website that they can use to help sell more stock.

Stop being a fucking moron and live life for the purpose of living life.  And to those of you who question my morals or end game goals by having this blog I can tell you this….I write for myself…I do not pander for comments…I do not write to check statistics or analytics.  I write so I can refrain from punching people in the head on an everyday basis.  I have written over 900 journal entries over the last 6 years and it has allowed me to remain somewhat sane after a full on asshole and his ass munching son (I mean he would eat a whole donkey, he is that much of a glutton for clarification) tried to ruin me.

Enjoy…and happy fucking JUNE.

 

 

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Me Likey, Social Media Sucks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Shit

  1. Pingback: OK so I totally agree with this guy « OK so…

Leave a Reply

