Plume – June 15th, 2012

Plume / Washington DC

I do not get to travel often enough to DC but when I do I always visit Plume which is located in the Jefferson Hotel.  The executive chef is Christopher Jakubiec and this was my 2nd time to dine here and I loved it even a bit more than the first.  From the room decor to the service (just killer) to the menu I do not have one complaint or fault with the place.  This recent trip I enjoyed the 7 course tasting menu (no wine) as noted below –

  • Amuse Bouche (Small Bite at Chef’s discretion)
  • Hamachi Tartar – Jalapeño and Shishito Condiment, Cucumber, Pickled Vegetables
  • Linguini Pasta – Ramp & Walnut Pesto, Slow-cooked Egg, English Peas, Morels, Parmesan Cheese
  • Soft-Shell Crab Tempura – Orange Emulsion, Old Bay Seasoning, Sweet Soy Sauce
  • Guinea Hen (Or Lamb Tenderloin) – Leg Confit Croquettes, Spring Cabbage, Pickled Porcini Mushrooms
  • Cheese Selection
  • Iced Praline and Vanilla Parfait – Mango Chutney with Saffron Postils, Coconut Meringue

The standouts were the Linguini and the Guinea Hen.  I am a bit over the whole soft shell crab thing, unless I am in China but it was still done very well.  Check out Plume if you around DC.

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Food, Me Likey. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Plume – June 15th, 2012

  1. Sheila says:

    Mmmmmm. I am looking forward to Danko in a couple weeks!

  2. Sylvia says:

    Hey…were you in Alexandria Old Town last week? I could have swore I saw you walking with another guy and carrying a backpack?

  3. martineden says:

    I am not so good with my DC/VA geography but I am pretty sure I was not in that area. Beside being stuck at the convention center my only other moments were at the National Gallery and then a little around the mall area. ALthough you are the 2nd person who has seen my doppelgänger in the last 3 days and that is creepy in itself. I do like to envision that version of myself is a bit nicer then this one but doubtful.

  4. Heeman says:

    You left out the part about the 80 year old bottle of wine we got comped! Plume is always one of the best!

  5. martineden says:

    Even though I am not a wine guy the act was all class and ended the meal perfectly.

Leave a Reply

