Oscar Hangover

As part of my continued Oscar hangover I have been trying to watch all the top movies over the last few weeks and a few oddballs here and there.  It also is driven by the absolute lack of anything decent out at this time.

  • The Master – This is a case where the sum is less than the parts.  Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Joaquin Phoenix were fantastic and both Oscar worthy.  The concept was excellent as well regarding damaged people and the issues around cults and cults  of personality.  However, the overall message did not carry through enough to make this a great movie.
  • The Man With The Iron Fist – Yes I know this was not an Oscar movie in any way shape or form but I caught this on my flight out to LA this week.  I assumed that it would be meh as anything with Tarantino and Roth involved normally bores the piss out of me.  However, I really liked this and what RZA brought to the genre as a writer, director and actor.  If you like spaghetti HK cinema then do yourself a favor and check it out.  I will also highly recommend the song The Baddest Man Alive from the movie featuring The Black Keys & RZA –
  • Downfall – If you have not see this movie make sure you check out.  One of the finest movies ever made in any genre.  Mesmerizing to say the least.

 

About martineden

I am not here to please anyone.
This entry was posted in Me Likey, Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

